Jimmy Eat World Release New Track – “You Are Free”

Jimmy Eat World Facebook

Rock veterans Jimmy Eat World have released a lyric video for their new track ‘You Are Free‘.

It’s yet another colossal soaring anthem, reminiscent of a lot of the tracks on 2004’s Futures. You can check it out below.


Kevin Devine Releases New Track – “Instigator”


Introspective lyrical pop legend Kevin Devine has release a new track ‘Instigator‘. Devine, who is currently on the same record label as Brand New is currently on tour (as Kevin Devine & The Goddamn Band).

Dates and info about the new single can be found at Procrastinate Music Traitors.

All Time Low Release New Track – ‘Take Cover’


All Time Low have released a new track ‘Take Cover‘ from their upcoming release ‘Straight To DVD II’.

It’s a pretty sweet three and a half minutes of that delicious catchy ATL we are used to.

Check it out below

New Music Review; Chasing Cadence – “Destroy Something Beautiful” EP

New Band Spotlight banner

Chasing Cadence 2016 - web

Alt-rock quintet Chasing Cadence are currently gunning for glory. Their past history has seen them play support slots with the likes of Taking Back Sunday, Don Broco and Glamour Of The Kill, as well as coverage from Kerrang!, Rock Sound and BBC Radio 1 Newsbeat.

Hailing from Hertfordshire UK, the band are made up of Jack (Vocals), Rob (Rhythm Guitar), Tom (Lead Guitar), Dan (Bass) and Alfie (Drums). The boys plan to release their new EP ‘Destroy Something Beautiful’ on September 16th, so we took out our ear paddles and wrapped them around it to see what it was all about.

The five-track EP begins with the comically titled ‘Its Not The Length That Count’s. It’s What You Do With It’. From the outset there is no shortage of noise, and the volcanic build up kicks your earflaps into an upright position where they’ll pretty much stay for the rest of the EP. Perhaps the title refers to the length of the song, which pounds us straight into an explosive and slightly unhinged riff that maintains it’s supercharge for a mere two minutes, before swinging into the second track ‘Harbour’.

Harbour wastes no time in confronting you with a wall of frantic riffs before elegantly diving into a more delicately-paced vocal. Emanating a more laid back feel, reminiscent of earlier Deaf Havana, it clutches onto some dramatic pauses and introspective lyrics that we usually reserve for the nostalgia-inducing playlists.

‘Watching The World’ is by far our favourite track on the EP. Launching into a somewhat Rage Against The Machine-style riff that styles out well with the machine gun drums, only to then add a serious vocal hook that you could quite happily have on repeat. Although powerful and monstrous, we can’t help feel like the vocals are a little strained and may have been improved by a slightly less screamed tone. Nonetheless, it is a huge track and well worth a listen.

Their latest video release ‘Everyone Relax’, which you can check out below, starts up using some clean cut vocals to lull you into a false sense of security before slamming you headlong into an unshackled chorus of sneering and angsty vocal roars that bands like Young Guns and Mallory Knox would be proud of. The massive climbing melodies make for a very listenable track, before it abruptly ends mid-charge like puma running headlong into a brick wall. Except the puma is on fire and being chased by masked gunmen.

The last track and the band’s most recent hit ‘Dear Life’ has landed them recent success  as the theme to TNA Xplosion Wresting, and is a trampling four minutes of intermittent guitar and understated synthy lines that babble away under sky high choruses.

The whole EP is a delicious fest of brutal guitars and colossally dense but uplifting vocals. Not only is it rock radio-friendly but possesses that passion and power that some bands within the genre often fail to maintain for a couple of tracks, let alone a whole EP. Careful on the volume with this one though kids, as those grinding guitars could easily have your ears off.

For fans of: Young Guns, Mallory Knox, Don Broco

Release date: 16th September 2016

Chasing Cadence will play a special release show on 29th September at The Black Heart in Camden, London. Tickets for this can be purchased at chasingcadence.bigcartel.com or at ourblackheart.com. In addition, they will play at the televised Unsigned Music Awards on 27th October at the Troxy, London.

You can also check out all their latest info on facebook.com/chasingcadence and twitter.com/chasingcadence



Brand New Release New EP, ‘3 Demos, Reworked’


Unlike a lot of bands Brand New never seem consistent or adhere to any kind of expected schedule. Earlier this year they released a limited amount of cassettes containing the leaked demos from 2006. It now seems that three of these demos have been reworked into a new EP and are available to check out on Bandcamp.

At first listen it seems that they have nicely filled out the sounds and layers for each one, but still maintaining the suspense and feeling that the raw demos possessed. They are by no means changed as such, just simply filled out and bent into more glossy versions.

The three demos ‘Brother’s Song’, ‘Missing You’, and the very Smith’s-sounding ‘1996’ are available to purchase and include the original 2006 versions.

Check them out below and let us know what you think.